30 November, 2012
The Liberal Art University in Hong Kong
Print Friendly | Text size: Decrease font Default font Increase font

Lingnan University e-News

Campus news

Research and academic activities

Awards and people

Upcoming events

By Date:
Campus news

A total of 1,171 students were awarded bachelor’s degrees, postgraduate diplomas, master’s and doctoral degrees at the 43rd Congregation of Lingnan University on 15 November. The Hon Bernard Charnwut Chan, GBS, JP, Chairman of the University Council, conferred honorary doctorates on five distinguished individuals in recognition of their outstanding contributions to education and the well-being of the community. The five recipients are:

  • Prof Liu Mingkang, Doctor of Social Sciences, honoris causa
  • Prof Jagdish N Bhagwati, Doctor of Social Sciences, honoris causa
  • Dr John Chan Cho-chak, Doctor of Social Sciences, honoris causa
  • The Hon Wong Yan-lung, Doctor of Laws, honoris causa
  • Dr Ann Hui On-wah, Doctor of Humanities, honoris causa (in absentia)

Speaking on behalf of the honorary graduates, Dr the Hon Wong Yan-lung encouraged the graduates not to dread and downplay the different and opposing views of others. He said, “For what have been advocated, though unpleasant or incomplete, may well be an integral feature of the entire truth.” He added, “Do not be satisfied with the first impression, the superficial or the hearsay. Discover the truth by doing your own search; test the propositions; go out and see the world for yourself, walk the thousand miles.”

President Chan Yuk-Shee also congratulated the graduates for their achievements. He spoke about the importance of facing one’s failure, “No matter what direction your life takes, don’t let temporary setbacks stunt your determination. Failures can help us understand we don’t know all we need to know. Once we realise our inadequacy, we can start a new journey of seeking new knowledge and meaning in life.”

Please go to http://www.ln.edu.hk/news/20121115/43rd_congregation to review the citations of the honorary doctorates and the address by Dr Wong Yan-lung.