28 February, 2013
The Liberal Art University in Hong Kong
Print Friendly | Text size: Decrease font Default font Increase font

Lingnan University e-News

Campus news

Research and academic activities

Awards and people


Upcoming events

By Date:
Awards and people

Prof Jesús Seade, Vice-President of Lingnan University, was conferred the titles of Senior Fellow and Honorary Professor of the Asian College of Knowledge Management (ACKM) at a ceremony at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University on 24 January.

Prof Seade has been a leading contributor to economic theory, policy and practice from a range of senior positions in academia, government and international economic organisations. He held a Chair in Economics at Warwick University, UK and was Director-founder of Mexico’s leading Economics Department, Ambassador and Chief Negotiator to the Uruguay Round Trade Negotiations and to the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), and was appointed as a founder deputy head of the World Trade Organisation (WTO). Subsequently at the International Monetary Fund (IMF), he was closely involved in crisis management and capital market issues before moving on to head the IMF’s Task-force overseeing all work on Standards and Codes.

At this biennial ceremony, Dr Wu Yan-hwa, President of National Chiao Tung University and Dr Hwung Hwung-Hweng, President of National Cheng Kung University, were conferred the titles of Honorary Fellow and Honorary Professor. Other recipients of the Senior Fellow award included Dr Kan Fook-yee, Counsel of the Hong Kong Bar Association, Dr Lo Man-tuen, Vice-chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference, Dr Cheng Man-tai, Chairman of Embry Holdings Limited, Dr Delia Pei, Vice-President of the Hong Kong Girl Guides Association, and Dr Ken Tsoi, Director of Calson Investment Limited. Forty-two personalities – mostly Hong Kong business leaders – were awarded the title of Fellow of the ACKM.