On 17 March, Dr Lau Chi-pang, Associate Professor of History, led a tour to landmarks in Tuen Mun such as Tsing Shan Monastery, Hung Lau, the former Perowne Camp, Leung Yuen in Castle Peak Beach, Ta Teh Institute and Lam Tei, offering the participating alumni an opportunity to explore the origin of Lingnan.
The participants found the former Perowne Camp, where Lingnan’s temporary hostels were located at Blocks 28 and 43 when the campus was moved to Tuen Mun, most impressive. With the presence of Dr Lau, who served as the warden then, the participants recalled in excitement how they did cooking at hostels and took the school coach to the affiliated secondary school of Lingnan at Leung Yuen to attend class every day. Although they only stayed in the hostels for one and a half years, it was certainly an enjoyable and memorable experience of their Lingnan days.
Opened between 1946 and 1949, Ta Teh Institute is of great significance to Lingnan because, for one thing, many graduates of Lingnan in Guangzhou had lectured there. More importantly, it is also one of the institutions that inspired Lingnan to take up the mission of providing quality liberal arts education.
Lam Tei used to be the marketplace of the To clan and other clans in Tuen Mun. When agricultural studies were part of the curriculum, Lingnan rented some farmland at Lam Tei for teaching purposes. In fact, Lingnan was the only institute in Hong Kong offering formal training in agricultural studies and about 90% of the staff at the then Agriculture and Fisheries Department were Lingnan graduates.